Frequently Asked Questions

Please reach us at  if you cannot find an answer to your question.

What is a chakra?

The chakras are energy centers from the base of our spine up to the crown of our head. The chakra system contains within it seven major chakras, each acting as an energetic gateway allowing universal energy to flow in and out of our systems. Each chakra corresponds with particular body organs and reflects an aspect of consciousness on an emotional, psychological and spiritual level.

Do I have to know how to dance?

No, there are no set steps and you dance as if no one is watching to modern dance music in a sacred space. Creator, Natalie Southgate, describes it as ”dreaming with your feet”, and explains the experience and how it’s good for your soul…

Can I do it wrong?

No, Chakradance is a healing dance practice. It’s unique because it uses spontaneous dance for the purpose of healing. There’s no right or wrong way to Chakradance. It’s a journey of self-discovery.

What can I expect?

Each chakra is explored through specific music, guided imagery and your own free, improvised dance, done with your eyes softly closed. This begins to activate inner experiences. It’s almost like entering into a waking dream. You may see images in your mind’s eye while you are dancing or gain insights. You may also experience feelings, emotions or physical sensations. Classes, comprised of a small group of people, are held in candle lit spaces. Although music and dance form the primary focus, sessions also include sensing, working with elements and colours, and short meditations.

Chakradance puts you in touch with the sacred, both within yourself and within the universe. It helps you connect with your soul. Dancing the seven chakras is like dancing into seven different worlds, each with their own lessons, meanings and stories. They are all uniquely yours, to explore and enjoy!”